Trial: Digital resources related to Civil Rights, Japanese-American Relocation, Farm Workers, and Native Americans

The Library has set up trial access to evaluate four digital collections:

Ralph J. Bunche Oral Histories Collection on the Civil Rights Movement
National Farm Worker Ministry: Mobilizing Support for Migrant Workers, 1939-1985
Fight for Racial Justice and the Civil Rights Congress
Japanese-American Relocation Camp Newspapers: Perspectives on Day-to-Day Life

These are all part of a resource called Archives Unbound from Gale Cengage. The company was not able to set up a trial for just these four resources, so all of the collections are available to view.

Available via the same link is another trial resource, Indigenous Peoples: North America, which covers the history of American Indian tribes and supporting organizations. The collection includes sources from American and Canadian institutions, tribal newspapers, and Indian-related organizations. The collection also features Indigenous language materials, including dictionaries, Bibles, and primers.

I am particularly interested in your feedback on the resources listed above, but if you see other collections of interest, let me know and I’ll put them on my wish list.
Trial access ends 3/17/16.


Event: Patty Enrado Presents: A Village in the Fields

Patty Enrado Presents: A Village in the Fields
Thursday, October 22, 2015 | 6-8pm | Ethnic Studies Library

Celebrate Filipino American History Month with Patty Enrado, Eastwind Books of Berkeley, and the UC Berkeley Ethnic Studies Library.

In her debut novel, A Village in the Fields, Patty Enrado highlights a compelling but buried piece of American history: the Filipino-American contribution to the farm labor movement. 50 years ago, September 8, 1965, Filipino farm workers walked out of the fields and sparked the United Farm Workers Union movement.

To write this novel, Patty Enrado, the daughter of a farm worker, researched and interviewed Filipino farm laborers who were involved in the labor movement including her own family members. This intricately detailed story of love, loss, and human dignity spans more than eight decades and sweeps from the Philippines to the United States. In the vein of The Grapes of Wrath, A Village in the Fields pays tribute to the sacrifices that Filipino immigrant farm workers made to bring justice to the fields.

Published by Eastwind Books of Berkeley (2015). This book was debuted at the Delano celebration of Filipino Farm Labor activism on September 5, 2015.