Tag: research guides
Art History: Guide to online resources during COVID-19
Online Art History resources are plentiful and this guide makes it easy to access them. The link is located on the Art History/ Classics Library webpage. This guide lists sources for teaching resources and tips for online learning along with a sample of ebooks and online journals searchable through Oskicat. Learn about the HathiTrust Emergency Temporary Access Service. Find free online courses from the MoMA. You can also make an appointment with the Art Librarian, or utilize the 24/7 chat help.
Ana Hatherly Bibliography + Conference/Symposium + Talk
In anticipation of the conference/symposium on Portuguese visual artist/poet/scholar/filmmaker Ana Hatherly (1929-2015), we’ve assembled a bibliography of works authored by and about her in the Berkeley Library. Hatherly was one of the pioneers of the experimental poetry and literature movement in Portugal and already well-known in Europe before earning her PhD at Berkeley in 1986. Many of the books in the collection came to the Library through her dissertation advisor Arthur Askins who maintained close contact with her after she returned to Portugal. Other books were acquired more recently through the support of the Portuguese Studies Program in the Institute of European Studies (IES) and from donors such as retired Berkeley librarian AnneMarie Mitchell.
Between the lines: Tradition and Plasticity in Ana Hathery | Entrelinhas: tradição e plasticidade em Ana Hatherly, which will take place this Friday, March 22 in Stephens Hall, is the third conference/symposium since IES and the Camões Institute in Lisbon inaugurated the Catédra Ana Hatherly, or Chair, in Portuguese Studies in 2017. Tomorrow morning, Patrícia Lino who is currently a Camões lecturer at UC Santa Barbara will give a talk in English on the poetry of Ana Hatherly in Barrows Hall that is free and open to the public.
Library Research Guide on Charlie Hebdo
Last week’s blog post has morphed into a more substantial library research guide on Charlie Hebdo and the socio-historical context of the terrorist attacks in Paris.
Research Guide for Iberian Literatures
This new Research Guide for Spanish, Portuguese, and Other Iberian Literatures is a starting point for research on the literatures of the Iberian Peninsula located in the UC Berkeley Library. For additional resources in all formats including e-books, please explore related LCSH subject headings in OskiCat or browse the shelves near the relevant call numbers supplied in this bibliography.
The guide is lengthy (23 pages) but is sub-divided as follows: Guides and Literary Histories, Bio-Bibliographical and Regional Resources, Dictionaries, Literary Theory and Criticism, Poetry, Theater, Guides by Literary Period: Medieval and Early Renaissance, Early Modern and Baroque, Cervantes Studies, Enlightenment and Romanticism, and Modern and Contemporary. Bookmarks on the left (viewable in most web browsers) allow one to skip through the PDF file rather easily in locating a specific section.
While links to some electronic resources are provided, the Spanish and Portuguese subject grouping in the Library’s Electronic Resources Finder contains the most current digital resources available and should be consulted when using this guide to what are, for the most part, printed books.
New Library Subject Pages
Some of you may have already noticed that the three subject home pages for the Romance Language Collections have gradually taken on a new look and feel this fall. This is part of an effort in the Doe/Moffitt Libraries to transform the functionality of the former static html pages. While the content may appear the same, open-source Library à la Carte software, developed at Oregon State University enables us to quickly update the content and repurpose some of the content modules to create dynamic library course guides such as French 142AC: the Cultures of Franco-America, French 102: Writing in French, Italian 5B, and Spanish 107: Survey of Spanish Literature .
French 140B Course Research Guide
The Crafting of the French Philosopher: from Montaigne to Sartre [selected resources]
Portugal 1910-2010: Exhibit Bibliography
A complete list of sources both consulted and put on display for the exhibition Portugal 1910-2010 on view in the UC Berkeley’s Bancroft Library Corridor from March 5 – May 21, 2010 is now available to download. Check it out!
Dictionnaire Octave Mirbeau
Hosted by the Société Octave Mirbeau and maintained by an international group of Mirbeau experts including Yannick Lemarié et Pierre Michel, the online Dictionnaire Octave Mirbeau contains more than one thousand entries. Some are brief, from one to fifteen lines, but most are quite substantial. The entries are grouped into five sections: amis et connaissances de Mirbeau (famille, écrivains, peintres, sculpteurs, compositeurs, gens de théâtre, etc.) ; les lieux (villes où Mirbeau a vécu ou voyagé et pays dont il a parlé ou bien où son oeuvre a été reçue et traduite) ; oeuvres (publiées de son vivant et depuis sa mort) ; thèmes et interprétations ; et personnel des oeuvres de fiction (êtres humains et animaux).
The UC Berkeley Library has more than 117 works by or about Octave Mirbeau, iconoclastic French journalist, art critic, pamphleteer, novelist, and playwright in its printed collection, including Cahiers Octave Mirbeau.
Guide to French and Francophone Literature
This critically revised and updated library subject guide provides a starting point for research on French and Francophone literature in the UC Berkeley Library. For additional resources in all formats including e-books, please explore related LCSH subject headings in OskiCat or browse the shelves near the relevant call numbers supplies in this bibliography.
The guide is rather lengthy (21 pages) but is sub-divided as follows: General Guides and Literary Histories, French Language Dictionaries, Manuals and Guides to Literary Theory and Criticism, Poetry, Theater, Francophone Literature Resources, and Guides by Literary Period: Middle Ages, the Renaissance, 17th century, 18th Century, 19th century, 20th-21st century. Bookmarks on the left (viewable in most web browsers) allow one to skip through the PDF rather easily in locating a specific section.
While links to some electronic resources are provided, the French Studies subject grouping in the Library’s Electronic Resources Finder contains the most current digital resources available and should be consulted when using this guide to what are, for the most part, printed books.
Buscando Book Reviews
Tracking down book reviews for European publications in the Romance languages can be challenging. With the exception of the IBR Online, most tools listed in the Library’s Electronic Resources Finder category for “Book and Film Review Databases” index primarily US and UK imprints. Article databases like Cairn, Francis, Historical Abstracts, International Medieval Bibliography, Iter, MLA, and Periodicals Index Online can be helpful but when even those fail to turn up relevant hits, you may want to consult some of the print and web-based sources recently added to the research tools pages for French, Italian Studies, or Iberian Studies.
Despite a major serials cancellation project last year, the Library will continue its subscriptions to print sources like Delibros, Insula, O meus livros, and Qué leer from Spain and Portugal. We continue to receive Revista de libros from Madrid in both print and digital form. From Italy, we’ve also retained our subscription to La rivista dei libri and L’indice dei libri del mese which profile some of the most important new titles being published in Italy. And from France, subscriptions to Critique published by Éditions de Minuit, Lire, Livres de France, and La Quinzaine littéraire have all been kept and provide critical reviews of Francophone publications. Current issues for all of these can be found in the Heyns Reading Room on the second floor of the Doe Library.
A few freely accessible online sources to make note of include: Acta fabula: revue des parutions en theorie littéraire, CriticaLiteraria.com, H-France Review, La Società Italiana per lo Studio della Storia Contemporanea (SISSCO), Mercurio panorama de libros, and www.lindiceonline.com.