Undergraduate Research Prize winners

We are happy to announce this year's winners of the Library Prize for Undergraduate Research . The Library Prize attracts the very best undergraduate papers from courses taught in departments across the campus. It recognizes excellence in undergraduate research projects that show evidence of significant inquiry using the library, its resources, and collections, as well as demonstrating learning about the research and information-gathering process itself.

The winners will be honored with a reception on May 10 from 4:00 to 6:00 pm, in the Morrison Room, Doe Library.

This year's winners are:

Upper Division

Cécile Evers
International and Area Studies 102/History 195
"Slave Language Acquisition in the 18th Century, Gobernación of Chocó, Colombia"
Advisors: William Taylor, Professor, History and Alan Karras, Lecturer, International and Area Studies

Ashley Aubuchon
History 101
"A Means to an End: The Role of Religion in Eastern State Penitentiary during 'The Experiment'"
Advisor: Waldo Martin, Professor, History

Michael Uy
Music H195
"The Baroque Viola and Improvisational Style"
Advisor: Davitt Moroney, Professor, Music

Lower Division

Sarah Stoller
History 7B
"Amos 'n Andy: Revolution or Regression: Controversy and the Formation of African American Identity"
Advisors: Leon Litwack, Professor, History and Felicia Angeja Viator, GSI, History