New Resource: Artifex Press Database of Digital Catalogues Raisonnés

The UC Berkeley Library now subscribes to a new database of digital catalogues raisonnés by Artifex Press. UC Berkeley faculty, staff, and students now have access to the full collection of Artifex Press publications, including catalogues raisonnés on:

Chuck Close
Jim Dine
Tim Hawkinson
Sol LeWitt
Agnes Martin
Lucas Samaras
James Siena

 

These titles can be accessed directly from the Artifex Press website via the VPN or Proxy, or linked from the Oskicat catalog on the individual titles.

 

artifex press

Follow us on social media
Twitter: @ah_library_ucb
Instagram: berkeley_art_history_library

New Trial of the ‘Yale Art and Architecture ePortal’ through July 2019

yale eportal

UC Berkeley has a trial subscription to the new ‘Yale Art and Architecture ePortal‘ through July 2019. The portal includes access to eBook versions of many publications on art and architecture from Yale University Press and beyond. The site can be accessed from a campus IP address or through the VPN at: https://www.aaeportal.com/home

Here is more information about the portal from the publisher website:

“This innovative and dynamic electronic platform provides individuals and institutions with access to important art and architectural history scholarship. With grant funding from The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, Yale University Press has developed this site to make key backlist and out-of-print titles on a wide variety of subjects more broadly available and easily discoverable within an interactive platform. The ePortal also features scholarship from other leading university presses and museum publishers, creating a meaningful and robust educational experience.”

Some of the features of the Yale Art and Architecture ePortal include:

Read offline by printing or saving chapters as PDFs
Highlight and take notes within online reader
Share links to chapters or books with students
Embedded image zoom within online reader
Full-text searching capabilities
Image searing capabilities

 

 

Follow us on social media
Twitter: @ah_library_ucb
Instagram: berkeley_art_history_library

New Resources in Literature

three quarter image of doe library
Three quarter view of the East and North facades.” Daniel L. Lu, CC BY-SA 4.0

by Taylor Follett

Fall semester is always a time of fresh beginnings — new classes, new faces, and most excitingly for those of us at the library, access to new resources. We hope that the following new databases, books, journals, and much more will be of value to those studying literature. Here are some highlights for undergraduates, graduate students, and professors alike.

Continue reading “New Resources in Literature”


New Databases: Photography: The World through the Lens; Classic Mexican Cinema Online; and askART

The Library has subscribed to three new databases of visual content available to all UC Berkeley patrons:

Photography: The World through the Lens

gale

The invention of photography represented a turning point in nineteenth-century culture and visual experience. For the first time, there was a means to capture an accurate and true portrayal of the people, places, and events that would shape history. As a complement to studies of history, culture, media, and many other disciplines, Photography: The World Through the Lens provides the visual evidence to support and supplement written sources.

Photography: The World Through the Lens assembles collections of photographs, photograph albums, photographically illustrated books, and texts on the early history of photography found in libraries and archives across the globe. The nineteenth century was about changes in family and society, invention and scientific discovery, exploration and colonization, urban versus rural life, work, leisure and travel — all this is captured in photographs. Photography: The World Through the Lens delivers around 2 million photographs from Britain, Europe, Asia, Africa, and the Americas.

 

Classic Mexican Cinema Online

brill
The Golden Age of Mexican cinema is illuminated in this collection of popular movie periodicals. It includes magazines such as Cinema Reporter (1943-1965), Cine Mundial (1951-1955), and El Cine Gráfico. From the Archives of the Filmoteca of the Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México (UNAM). Mexican cinema, from its beginnings in the late 1890s to its Golden Age (1930s to 1960), was consistently the largest and most important of all the Spanish-speaking countries. Over 40,000 images from Mexican Cinema are included.

askART

askart

askART provides access to artists’ profiles, images, literature references, biographies, auction records, art for sale and art wanted, essays on important art movements, and statistics on the markets. Millions of auction records and results (from 1987+). 300,000+ worldwide artists.

 

 

Follow us on social media
Twitter: @ah_library_ucb
Instagram: berkeley_art_history_library

bioRxiv: a free open access archive for unpublished preprints in the life sciences

bioRxiv (pronounced “bio-archive”) is a free online archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints in the life sciences. It is operated by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, a not-for-profit research and educational institution. By posting preprints on bioRxiv, authors are able to make their findings immediately available to the scientific community and receive feedback on draft manuscripts before they are submitted to journals.
bioRxiv accepts preprints of articles covering all aspects of research in the life sciences. Categories include:
  • Bioengineering
  • Cancer biology
  • Cell biology
  • Ecology
  • Epidemiology
  • bioRxiv logoGenomics
  • Molecular biology
  • Neuroscience
  • Pharmacology and toxicology
  • Scientific Communication and Education
and more.
Readers may add public comments to articles on bioRxiv. Comments are moderated to ensure they conform to the standards of normal professional discourse.
Once an article is published in a journal, bioRxiv will automatically update the preprint with a link to the published version.

Reaxys 2.0 Migration

 

Logo for Reaxys Database

Reaxys is a web-based tool for the retrieval of chemistry information and data from published literature, including journals and patents.Chemists at Berkeley are active users of Reaxys, doing 1000’s of searches/month!

Elsevier has rolled out a new version of Reaxys (Reaxys 2.0) that has a number of enhanced features, including:

  1.       An increasingly simple user interface.  The opening page has spaces to (a) type in the search query in a search bar or (b) type in the name of the structure or draw the structure.
  2.       Search functions using the querylets to increase the specificity of the search and reduces the time that the user has to filter the results post search.
  3.       Search functions that contain auto suggest. Similarly it also searches for singular/plural and synonyms
  4.       Using Boolean operators (obviously one of Elsevier’s strengths)
  5.       Listing hits in the initial screen (post search).  No secondary search needed.
  6.       A big increase in the number of searchable Asian patents

The migration is Reaxys 2.0 is ongoing, but migration should be completed by November 30, 2017. Soon UCB users will be directed to the new interface, but will continue to have the option to use the old interface for the foreseeable future.


Romance Language Collections Newsletter no.1 (Fall 2016)

What’s new in the Library for Fall 2016? 
Piano_oriental_2
The graphic novel Le piano oriental by Zeina Abirached will be on display in the Doe Library exhibition Beyond Tintin and Superman: The Diversity of Global Comics opening September 19.

Welcome back everyone! Here’s a brief sum-up of new services and library resources with a focus on the Romance languages and southern European studies in particular.

New Blog – Over the summer the Library migrated all of its blogs to WordPress. From this point forward, please look here for all Romance Language Collections news. If you choose not to subscribe to the blog, don’t worry. I usually forward the most important posts to your respective department listservs.

Electronic Resources

OpenEdition Books – With a combination of generous discretionary and endowment funds, the Library was able to acquire the complete ebook catalogue of this open access book initiative based at Université d’Aix-Marseille. We now have enhanced and permanent access to more than 2700 open access books (most in French but also in Italian, Spanish and Portuguese) that can be read in four different formats (epub, pdf, html, or reader) from prestigious academic presses like CNRS Éditions, Presses Universitaires de Rennes, and l’École française de Rome. We have also have become partners in an acquisitions policy that both supports sustainable development of OA and that respects the needs of teaching, research and learning communities.

OpenEdition Journals – Also known as Revues.org, the Library has purchased permanent access to the 140 journals available through OpenEdition’s freemium model, eliminating moving walls and gaining similar formats enhancements as the ebooks. Representative titles include Arzanà: Cahiers de littérature médiévale italienne, Cahiers d’études romanes, Flaubert: Revue critique et génétique, and L’Atelier du Centre de recherches historiques.

Ebooks on Casalini’s Torrossa platform – Besides the Italian ebooks the Library receives through its subscription to Editoria Italiana Online, we added 200 additional titles last spring. Casalini Libri also unveiled a new reader in July which greatly improves the readability (especially on smartphones and tablets) of the near 2500 titles in Berkeley’s collection of Italian ebooks.

Kanopy and the Media Resources Center – New films and documentaries in the Romance Languages from not only Europe but also Africa and Latin America are regularly added to this online streaming service. Beginning this semester, check-out periods for DVDs and VHS tapes from the MRC will be extended to 7 days for faculty, lecturers and graduate student instructors!

Continue reading “Romance Language Collections Newsletter no.1 (Fall 2016)”


Access Scopus database for research in a variety of fields

Laptop with chart on screen

Find more results and uncover trends in your field through Scopus, a large abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature.

The UC Berkeley Library is now providing access to this tool covering fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences and arts & humanities. More than half the content originates outside North America and the content includes journals, conferences, trade publications, and book series.

The database provides various ways to link to the full text of documents, including via UC-eLinks. Scopus offers several features including tools to track, analyze, and visualize your research.  Download references into a number of reference managers.

You’ll find Scopus in OskiCat and the A-Z List of Databases.


Post contributed by Jean McKenzie, Acting AUL, Collections


Resource: Russian National Bibliography

The Library recently acquired access through EastView to the Russian National Bibliography.

Included in the resource are: the definitive reference guide available to Russian book publications; indices to Russian journals, periodicals, and newspapers; book reviews found in the central and regional Russian press; synopses of dissertations from the Russian Federation; an index to Russian music-related publications; and an index of visual materials published or appearing in books, collected works, and magazines.

All of these can be searched separately or together. Use the Keyword search box to enter the keywords for your search. To the right of the Keyword search box you can select whether you want to conduct your search in Russian, English, or Transliteration. One thing to note here — by using English keywords for your search, your search will be on English-language sources only. If you want to run a search in Russian, but do not have a Russian keyboard driver installed in your system, click “Russian Keyboard.” A small window will pop up with a Russian keyboard that will enter the text you type on it directly into Keyword search box.


Resource: International Bibliography of Humanism and the Renaissance

The Library recently acquired from Brepolis the International Bibliography of Humanism and the Renaissance, a multi-disciplinary bibliography of the Renaissance and the early modern period (1500-1700) that includes entries for monographs, critical editions, translations, anthologies, miscellanies and exhibition catalogs, as well as specialized dictionaries and encyclopedias, handbooks, journal articles and reviews written in any language and presented in any format.

It reproduces online and continues the Bibliographie internationale de l’Humanisme et de la Renaissance, coordinated and published by Librairie Droz since 1965 (and located in our collection in the MAIN (Gardner) Stacks at CB361.1 .B52). The rights to the resource were acquired by Brepolis in 2013.

According to the site, the “core of the Bibliography focuses on European history and culture that spans the 16th and 17th centuries, and encompasses a broad spectrum of subjects, ranging from religious history through to philosophy, science and the arts; and from military and political history through to social and gender studies. Both the geographical and the chronological delimitations are not restrictive as the IBHR also includes publications on the European interactions with the wider world through exploration, colonisation, slavery and the Christian mission and extends its coverage to the modern period with the inclusion of modern hermeneutics, reception studies and the 21st c. teaching of texts written in the target period.”1

1 http://cpps.brepolis.net/ibhr/introduction.cfm